Book review: Brevity of Twit, by KD Rose

Fun and poignant!

livingabooklife

I have to admit, I’ve never really understood poetry. I’m not sure what it is about it…the overwhelming subjectivity, the rigidity of form, or the air of pretentiousness that frustrates me the most. To me, it feels like the modern art version in a literary format: it could mean literally anything or nothing, and my dog could probably do it.

But when KD Rose tweeted at me and asked me to review her short book, The Brevity of Twit, Poetry in 140 Characters, I readily agreed. She was writing her poems in tweets, a delightful, modern twist on the traditional poetical structure. For some reason, this was something that really piqued my interest. How do you write a poem in 140 characters? Do you include hashtags? Do you dare truncate, or (gasp!) use numbers or single characters instead of whole words? And does the nature of the Twitter feed

View original post 231 more words

Leave a Reply

